Cinahilger's Blog



I guess we’ll see.

Good morning.

Actually, it’s almost noon. But daylight savings time has me all confused.

Lately I’ve been thinking about  marriage. A lot of my friends are getting married. It appears to be a big fad right now.

Maybe I’ll get married some day. I think it would be nice, you know, to always have someone to dance with at wedding receptions.

Right now though, I’m not really dating anyone. I’m not even interested in anyone.

I was talking with someone the other day, and they were talking about how it’s important not to have too high of standards..how its better to get out there and meet people before you’re too old or too ugly or have too many cats and take too few showers.

But honestly, I don’t buy it. I’ve dated two people, and I eventually realized I didn’t want to marry either of them. And I’ve met a lot of guys lately, since school has started back up, but none of them are the kind of person I would marry. I guess that is what you might call high standards.

What is wrong with high standards? I think the fact that I have “high standards” speaks to how content I am to be single. I am very happy just the way I am, and I don’t want to ruin it by trying to make a relationship work with the wrong person. The only way I would date someone is if I was convinced that letting that person into the innermost part of my heart would improve who I am, would bring me closer to God.

Neither of the relationships I have been in worked out. I am much happier now that I am taking my strength from Him instead. And it’s not that either of the people I dated were bad people.

I don’t want my life to be motivated by whether or not I’m single, because then any relationship I am in isn’t about glorifying God, it’s about having a boyfriend. And men are all well and nice, but their love isn’t perfect. I can’t expect the person I’m dating to save me, to make my life feel complete, because that isn’t their job. That job belongs to Christ.

It would be nice to have someone to dance with at weddings, someone with whom to create children. But I can’t lean my heart upon the hopes of a marriage and a family, because unless I’m focused on Christ, that marriage and that family will crumble. Unless I am drinking in the love of the one who is love, I can’t expect to create a marriage full of love.

Does any of this make sense? I guess we’ll see.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Pam Anderson says:

    Never meeting anyone makes you an emotional shut-in. You should put yourself out there more. Spend more time meeting people and less time writing blogs. Maybe if you actually went on dates you wouldn’t spend so much time worrying about why you don’t go on dates.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
    • * cinahil says:

      I think you’ve misconstrued the entire point of this entry as some sort of complaint pertaining to being single, when in reality it is a statement of my contentment with this attitude.

      Also, saying “you wouldn’t feel bad about not going on dates if you went on dates” is not only a completely unhelpful line, but basically unrelated to what my entry was about.

      Thanks for commenting, though, I guess.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

