Cinahilger's Blog



Of parable and scripture

Some of my favorite bible-y parts, as requested by a friend 🙂

I love the book of 1st John.

I love the books of Colossians and Timothy 1 and 2

I love Psalms 90 through 101, I used to read them to my campers who would have bad dreams so they could get to sleep easier 🙂

I love Romans chapter 12 in it’s entirety

I love Matthew chapter 23 in it’s entirety (I love any portion of the gospels in which Jesus is criticizing religious leaders)

 

Now here are some verses that are underlined in my bible!

Psalm 16:11 :”You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever”

Isaiah 43: 1-4:  “But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you. O Israel, the one who formed you says, ‘Do not be afraid for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty,  you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I gave Egypt as a ransom for your freedom; I gave Ethiopia and Seba in your place. Others were given in exchange for you. I traded their lives for yours because you are precious to me. You are honored, and I love you.'”

Jeremiah 29: 11-13: “‘For I know the plans I have for you’ says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”

Luke 6:31: “Jesus answered them, ‘Healthy people do not need a doctor-sick people do. I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners and need to repent.”

Luke 17:33: “If you cling to your life, you will lose it. And if you let your life go, you will save it.”

Romans 6:5,6: “Since we have been united with Him in his death, we will also be raised to life as he was. We know that our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose it’s power in our lives”

Romans 14: 17-18: “For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of what we eat or drink, but of living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. If you serve Christ with this attitude you will please God, and others will approve of you, too.”

Romans 15:22: “..Blessed are those who don’t feel guilty for doing something they have decided is right”

1st Corinthians 10:13: “The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.”

2nd Corinthans 3:17: “For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

Philippians 4:6: “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.”

Colossians 2:8: “Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than Christ. For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

